URGENT: Voice your support NOW for WV education reform


handsLate Thursday, the Senate Education Committee recessed without making a decision on Gov. Tomblin’s education reform legislation (SB359).

The bill is currently being retooled, and there is growing concern that it will be watered down to meet the demands of a vocal opposition. Senators have heard from opponents, now they need to hear from you.

The Charleston Regional Chamber of Commerce strongly supports SB359, which is a critical first step in transforming education in West Virginia. We cannot let special interests gut the bill and neutralize those measures necessary for meaningful change.

We urge you to call each member of the Education Committee and voice your support for the Governor’s vision. West Virginia is almost heaven, but instead of reaching for the stars when it comes to our children’s future, some appear determined to win a race to the bottom.

Micro-reforms will not get us where we need to be fast enough; we need quantum leaps to make sure our children and their children can compete in a global world.

Opposition is mounting and deals are being made behind closed doors. Your phone call can be the knock on the door that reminds lawmakers what this is all about: putting children first once and for all.

Call NOW!

A list of Senate Education Committee members and their contact information is contained below.

Here’s their contact info in alphabetical order:

Senator Clark Barnes
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7973
clark.barnes@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Beach
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7919
bob.beach@wvsenate.gov

Senator Donna Boley
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7905
donnaboley@suddenlink.net

Senator Mitch Carmichael
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7855
Mitch.Carmichael@wvsenate.gov

Senator Truman Chafin
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7808
truman.chafin@wvsenate.gov

Senator Bill Cole
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7843
bill.cole@wvsenate.gov

Senator Larry Edgell
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7827
larry.edgell@wvsenate.gov

Senator Daniel Hall
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7807
daniel.hall@wvsenate.gov

Senator William Laird
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7849
william.laird@wvsenate.gov

Senator Robert Plymale
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7937
robert.plymale@wvsenate.gov

Senator Ron Stollings
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7939
ron.stollings@frontier.com

Senator Gregory Tucker
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7906
greg.tucker@wvsenate.gov

Senator John Unger
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7933
john.unger@wvsenate.gov

Senator Erik Wells
Capitol Phone: (304) 357-7841
erik.wells@wvsenate.gov